BIS Advisory Panel members

The BIS Advisory Panel comprises distinguished academics, each with an established reputation in their respective field. The role of the Advisory Panel is to advise the BIS on emerging research areas that merit closer attention from central banks and to provide perspective on key current policy questions.

The group meets twice a year with BIS officials. Depending on the meeting's topic, other participants from central banks and academia may also be invited on an ad hoc basis. The Economic Adviser chairs the panel and the Research Adviser acts as the secretary. No honorarium is paid to the members.

The following are currently members of the BIS Advisory Panel:

Franklin Allen Professor of Finance and Economics and Executive Director Brevan Howard Centre for Financial Analysis Imperial College London
Markus K Brunnermeier Edwards S Sanford Professor of Economics and Director of the Bendheim Center for Finance Princeton University
Wenxin Du Henry Kaufman Professor of Financial Institutions Columbia Business School
Darrell Duffie The Adams Distinguished Professor of Management and Professor of Finance Graduate School of Business, Stanford University
Charles Engel Donald Hester Professor of Economics University of Wisconsin
Marc Flandreau Howard Marks Chair of Economic History School of Arts & Sciences, University of Pennsylvania
Kristin Forbes Jerome and Dorothy Lemelson Professor of Management and Global Economics MIT Sloan School of Management
Itay Goldstein Joel S Ehrenkranz Family Professor, Professor of Finance Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Sebnem Kalemli-Ozcan Neil Moskowitz Professor of Economics and Finance University of Maryland
Enrique Mendoza Professor of Economics University of Pennsylvania
Marco Pagano Professor of Finance University of Naples Federico II
Manju Puri J B Fuqua Professor of Finance Fuqua School of Business, Duke University
Ricardo Reis A W Phillips Professor of Economics London School of Economics & Political Science
Hélène Rey Lord Raj Bagri Professor of Economics London Business School
Jean Charles Rochet Professor of Economics Toulouse School of Economics and Geneva Finance Research Institute
Stephanie Schmitt-Grohe Professor of Economics Columbia University
Antoinette Schoar Stewart C Myers-Horn Family Professor of Finance and Entrepreneurship MIT Sloan School of Management
Amit Seru The Steven and Roberta Denning Professor of Finance Stanford Graduate School of Business
Christopher Sims John J F Sherrerd '52 University of Professor of Economics Princeton University
Amir Sufi Bruce Lindsay Professor of Economics and Public Policy University Chicago Booth School of Business
Linda Tesar Professor of Economics University of Michigan
Robert Townsend Elizabeth & James Killian Professor of Economics Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dimitri Vayanos Professor of Finance and Director of the Paul Woolley Centre for the Study of Capital Market Dysfunctionality London School of Economics & Political Science
Laura Veldkamp Cooperman Professor of Finance and Economics Columbia Business School
Michael Woodford John Bates Clark Professor of Political Economy Columbia University
Wei Xiong John H Scully '66 Professor in Finance Princeton University