Fact sheet - Irving Fisher Committee on Central Bank Statistics


The objective of the IFC is to promote the exchange of views amongst central bank economists, statisticians and policy makers as well as others who want to participate in discussing statistical issues of interest to central banks, including those relating to economic, monetary and financial stability. The IFC in particular strives to strengthen the relationship between compilers of statistics and the community of users and analysts of statistical information, both in and outside central banks. 


The IFC has four categories of members (see IFC Statutes). The main one comprises the full institutional members, ie central banks or international and regional organisations formally involved in central banking issues.


The Committee is composed of the designated representatives of the full institutional members. It elects the Executive which manages the affairs of the IFC in accordance with the Statutes and the decisions and guidelines of the Committee.

Current members of the Executive:

  • Chair: Mr Rashad CASSIM, South African Reserve Bank
  • Mr Yakubu Aminu BELLO, Central Bank of Nigeria
  • Ms Carol BERTAUT, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
  • Mr Robert KIRCHNER, Deutsche Bundesbank
  • Mr Seongho LEE, Bank of Korea
  • Mr Ko NAKAYAMA, Bank of Japan
  • Ms Li Ming ONG, Central Bank of Malaysia
  • Ms Gloria PENA, Central Bank of Chile
  • Mr Fernando Alberto ROCHA, Central Bank of Brazil
  • Mr Eyal ROZEN, Bank of Israel
  • Ms Silke STAPEL-WEBER, European Central Bank


The BIS provides the Secretariat of the Committee. Bruno Tissot, Head of Statistics and Research Support, is the senior BIS official responsible for IFC matters. The Secretariat is also supported by Christian Schmieder and Claudia Huber.