Green Swan 2022

A virtual conference co-organised by the Bank for International Settlements, the European Central Bank, the Network for Greening the Financial System and the People's Bank of China.

The conference will be fully livestreamed. Join the conversation on social media using #GreenSwanConference
View agenda in PDF

Green Swan 2022 (Day 1)

Building on the foundation of the inaugural Green Swan Conference in 2021, which brought together a wide range of high-calibre policymakers, experts and practitioners from different sectors, Green Swan 2022 offers a deeper dive into the topics of (i) monetary policy setting and operations in the context of climate change, and (ii) the role of finance in the climate transition, including transparency and disclosures, transition plans and financing green innovation.

All times in CEST (Central European Summer Time = UTC/GMT+2)

Opening event


Welcome remarks

    (Bank for International Settlements)

Opening address

  • Ravi MENON
    (Monetary Authority of Singapore; NGFS)

Session 1: The role of finance in climate transition


Keynote speech: The role and potential of the financial sector in climate change and the carbon market

  • ZHOU Xiaochuan
    (Boao Forum for Asia; former Governor of the People's Bank of China)


Roundtable: What can the public and private sectors do to turn transition finance frameworks to actions?

  • Chair: MA Jun
    (G20 Sustainable Finance Working Group; China Green Finance Committee)
  • Masyita CRYSTALLIN
    (Indonesia Ministry of Finance)
  • Paulina DEJMEK HACK
    (European Commission)
  • Emmanuel FABER
    (International Sustainability Standards Board)
  • Daniel HANNA
    (Standard Chartered Bank)
  • Kamran KHAN
    (Deutsche Bank)
  • Vivek PATHAK
    (IFC - International Finance Corporation)
  • Nicolas STERN
    (London School of Economics)

Session 2: Monetary policy setting and operations in the context of climate change


Panel: How to adapt central bank operations to a hotter world?

  • Fernanda GUARDADO
    (Central Bank of Brazil)
  • LYU Zheng
    (People's Bank of China)
  • Ivan ODONNAT
    (Banque de France)
  • Tokiko SHIMIZU
    (Bank of Japan)
  • Moderator: James TALBOT
    (Bank of England)


    (Princeton University)

Special event


Special address: A call to action for the financial sector

  • Al GORE
    (Generation Investment Management)

All times in CEST (Central European Summer Time = UTC/GMT+2)

Session 3: Transition plans in the private sector


Keynote speech

  • Klaas KNOT
    (De Nederlandsche Bank; Financial Stability Board Chair)

Panel 1: Transition plans and their financing

  • Magali ANDERSON
  • Sarah BREEDEN
    (Bank of England)
  • Alice CARR
    (Glasgow Financial Alliance for Net Zero)
  • Bruno CARRASCO
    (Asian Development Bank)
  • Moderator: Frédéric SAMAMA
    (S&P Global Sustainable1)

Introductory remarks

  • Laura COZZI
    (International Energy Agency)

Panel 2: Financing green innovation and investment

  • Alexander HARTMAN
  • Laura PIOVESAN
    (European Investment Bank)
  • Julia REINAUD
    (Breakthrough Energy)
  • Moderator: Irene HEEMSKERK
    (European Central Bank)

Closing event


High-level panel: Central banks and the green transition: what's next?

  • Chair: François VILLEROY DE GALHAU
    (Banque de France)
  • Roberto CAMPOS NETO
    (Central Bank of Brazil)
  • Agustín CARSTENS
    (Bank for International Settlements)
  • Christine LAGARDE
    (European Central Bank)
  • YI Gang
    (People's Bank of China)

Names in alphabetical order

Magali ANDERSON Chief Sustainability and Innovation Officer, Holcim
Sarah BREEDEN Executive Director, Financial Stability Strategy and Risk and member of the Financial Policy Committee, Bank of England
Markus BRUNNERMEIER Edwards S Sanford Professor of Economics and Director of the Bendheim Center for Finance, Princeton University
Roberto CAMPOS NETO Governor, Central Bank of Brazil
Alice CARR Executive Director for Public Policy, Glasgow Financial Alliance for Net Zero
Bruno CARRASCO Director General concurrently Chief Compliance Officer, Sustainable Development and Climate Change Department, Asian Development Bank 
Agustín CARSTENS  General Manager, Bank for International Settlements 
Laura COZZI Chief Energy Modeller, International Energy Agency 
Masyita CRYSTALLIN Special Advisor to the Minister of Finance of Indonesia; Sherpa for the Coalition of Finance Ministers for Climate Action
Paulina DEJMEK HACK  Director for General Affairs, Directorate-General for Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union, European Commission 
Emmanuel FABER  Chair, International Sustainability Standards Board 
Al GORE Chairman, Generation Investment Management 
Fernanda GUARDADO  Deputy Governor, Central Bank of Brazil
Daniel HANNA Global Head of Sustainable Finance, Standard Chartered Bank
Alexander HARTMAN Chief Financial Officer, Northvolt
Irene HEEMSKERK Head of Climate Change Centre, European Central Bank
Kamran KHAN Managing Director, Head of ESG for Asia Pacific, Deutsche Bank
Klaas KNOT President, De Nederlandsche Bank; Chair, Financial Stability Board
Christine LAGARDE President, European Central Bank
LYU Zheng Deputy Secretary General of Monetary Policy Committee, People's Bank of China
MA Jun Co-Chair, G20 Sustainable Finance Working Group; Chairman, China Green Finance Committee; President, Beijing Institute of Finance and Sustainability
Ravi MENON Managing Director, Monetary Authority of Singapore; Chair, NGFS
Ivan ODONNAT Deputy General Director for Financial Stability and Operations, Banque de France
Vivek PATHAK Global Head of Climate Business, IFC - International Finance Corporation
Luiz PEREIRA DA SILVA Deputy General Manager, Bank for International Settlements
Laura PIOVESAN Deputy Director General, Projects Directorate, European Investment Bank
Julia REINAUD Senior Director, Europe, Breakthrough Energy
Frédéric SAMAMA Head of Strategic Development, S&P Global Sustainable1
Tokiko SHIMIZU Assistant Governor, Bank of Japan
Nicolas STERN IG Patel Professor of Economics and Government and Chair of the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment, London School of Economics
James TALBOT Director, International Directorate, Bank of England
François VILLEROY DE GALHAU Governor, Banque de France
YI Gang Governor, People's Bank of China
ZHOU Xiaochuan Vice Chairman, Boao Forum for Asia; former Governor, People's Bank of China