Alexandre Lamfalussy Senior Research Fellowship - Appointment 2020

The Bank for International Settlements announces the appointment of  Robert M Townsend as the Alexandre Lamfalussy Senior Research Fellow for 2020. Robert Townsend is the Elizabeth & James Killian Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

Professor Townsend has held distinguished academic positions at the University of Chicago and Carnegie Mellon University and visiting professorships at Yale, University College London, the London School of Economics, the University of Chicago and Stanford. He is Research Associate at the NBER, Distinguished Research Fellow at the Becker Friedman Institute and Associate at the University of Chicago Department of Economics.

He has a distinguished record of publications, with several books and many journal articles on financial systems in developing and developed economies, financial structure and economic organisations, monetary theory and macroeconomics, and micro level studies on household finances in village economies and in urban neighbourhoods. He has received many professional and academic distinctions and awards including member of the National Academy of Sciences, member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, two Frisch Medals, the Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize, Fellow of the Econometric Society, the Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory (SAET), and the Center for Economic and Policy Research (CEPR).

Professor Townsend has been a visiting scholar at the Federal Reserve Banks of Minneapolis and New York and adviser to the Federal Reserve Banks of Chicago and Boston, the IMF and the World Bank.

The Alexandre Lamfalussy Senior Research Fellowship is awarded annually to internationally recognised experts in the fields of banking, monetary policy and financial stability. The Lamfalussy Fellow conducts research on a topic relevant to the BIS, collaborating with BIS colleagues and making use of the extensive networks and resources available at the BIS. This is the sixth fellowship award.