Board of Directors

The Board is responsible for determining the strategic and policy direction of the BIS, supervising BIS Management, and fulfilling the specific tasks given to it by the Bank's Statutes. It meets at least six times a year. 

Composition of the Board

The Board may have up to 18 members, including six ex officio Directors, comprising the central bank Governors of Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, the United Kingdom and the United States. They may jointly appoint one other member of the nationality of one of their central banks. Eleven Governors of other member central banks may be elected to the Board.

The Board elects a Chair and may elect a Vice-Chair from among its members, each for a three-year term.

Chair: François Villeroy de Galhau, Paris

Andrew Bailey London
Roberto Campos Neto Brasilia
Shaktikanta Das Mumbai
Thomas Jordan Zurich
Klaas Knot Amsterdam
Christine Lagarde Frankfurt am Main
Tiff Macklem Ottawa
Joachim Nagel Frankfurt am Main
Pan Gongsheng Beijing
Fabio Panetta Rome
Jerome H Powell Washington
Chang Yong Rhee Seoul
Victoria Rodríguez Ceja Mexico
Erik Thedéen Stockholm
Kazuo Ueda Tokyo
John C Williams New York
Pierre Wunsch Brussels

Former functionaries of the BIS Board of Directors

Advisory committees

Four advisory committees, established following Article 43 of the Bank's Statutes, assist the Board in its work. Their meetings may be held via teleconference, videoconference or written procedure:

  • The Administrative Committee reviews key areas of the Bank's administration, such as budget and expenditures, HR policies and IT. The Committee meets at least three times a year and it is chaired by John C Williams.
  • The Audit Committee meets with internal and external auditors, as well as with the Compliance unit. Among other things, it examines matters related to the Bank's internal control systems and financial reporting. The Committee meets at least four times a year and is chaired by Pierre Wunsch.
  • The Banking and Risk Management Committee reviews and assesses the Bank's financial objectives, the business model for BIS banking operations, and the risk management frameworks of the BIS. The Committee meets at least once a year and it is chaired by Thomas Jordan.
  • The Nomination Committee deals with the appointment of members of the BIS Executive Committee and meets on an ad hoc basis when necessary. It is chaired by the Board's Chair, François Villeroy de Galhau.

The Board has adopted a Code of Conduct for members of the Board of Directors