Timothy N J Antoine: Launch of the ECCB's 40th Anniversary celebrations

Opening remarks by Mr Timothy N J Antoine, Governor of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank, at the Launch of the ECCB's 40th Anniversary Celebrations, Saint Christopher (St Kitts) and Nevis, 19 January 2023. 

The views expressed in this speech are those of the speaker and not the view of the BIS.

Central bank speech  | 
19 January 2023

Heads of State

Heads of Government

Hon. Philip J. Pierre, Prime Minister and Minister of Finance of St Lucia and Chairman of the Monetary Council

The Honourable Dr Terrance M. Drew, Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis and Council Member for St. Kitts and Nevis

Other members of the Monetary Council

Ministers of Government

The Rt. Excellent and Rt. Honourable Dr Sir Kennedy Simmonds, former prime minister of St. Kitts and Nevis, National Hero and the sole surviving signatory of the ECCB Agreement in Trinidad on July 05, 1983.

Members of the Diplomatic and Consular Corps

Dr. Valda Henry, Deputy Governor, ECCB

Ms. Tracy Polius, Chief Director (Policy)

ECCB Board members

ECCB Management and Staff


Specially invited guests

President and Members of the St. Kitts-Nevis Youth Parliamentary Association

Competition Winners

Members of the Media

Citizens, Residents and Friends of our Currency Union

ECCB Family, Greetings.


On this glorious evening, we launch our year-long celebrations for our 40th anniversary.

Let this be a year of joyous celebration of our many successes en route to this milestone.

Let this be a year of reflection on the difficult road we have travelled together.

And let this be a year of vision and imagination (of what could be and should be) as we set our sights on the next decade and beyond.

But let these celebrations begin with a pause for applause to Almighty God "for in Him, we live and move and have our being" (Acts 17:28).