2019 Triennial Central Bank Survey of Foreign Exchange and OTC Derivatives Markets

Press release  | 
29 March 2019

The Bank for International Settlements (BIS) today launched the 12th Triennial Central Bank Survey of Foreign Exchange and Over-The-Counter (OTC) Derivatives Markets.

Conducted every three years since 1986, the Triennial Survey is the most comprehensive source of information on the size and structure of global foreign exchange and OTC derivatives markets. It aims to help central banks, other authorities and market participants monitor developments in OTC markets and inform discussions about reforms to OTC markets.

The previous survey, in April 2016, showed that trading in foreign exchange spot and OTC derivatives markets averaged $5.1 trillion per day.

More than 1,200 financial institutions in 53 countries will contribute to the 2019 Triennial Survey.1  Data on turnover in foreign exchange and OTC interest rate derivatives markets will be collected from financial institutions in April 2019. Data on the outstanding notional amounts and gross market values of foreign exchange, interest rate, equity, commodity, credit and other OTC derivatives will be collected at the end of June.

Preliminary results for turnover will be published by the BIS in early September 2019, and for amounts outstanding in early November 2019. The final results will be published in December 2019.

The Triennial Survey is coordinated by the BIS under the guidance of the Markets Committee and the Committee on the Global Financial System. Participating central banks survey financial institutions in their jurisdictions and submit national aggregates to the BIS, which calculates and publishes global totals.

The results of previous Triennial Surveys are available on the BIS website: https://www.bis.org/publ/rpfx16.htm.

1     Financial institutions in the following jurisdictions will contribute to the 2019 Triennial Survey: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Chinese Taipei, Colombia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong SAR, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and the United States.