Basel Committee organisation and governance

Updated 30 December 2016

The governance structure of the BCBS comprises
  • The Committee
  • Groups
  • The Chairman
  • The Secretariat

Close oversight of the Basel Committee is conducted through the Group of Central Bank Governors and Heads of Supervision (GHOS).

About the Basel Committee

Basel Committee organisation

The BCBS has in place a rotating chairmanship to direct the Committee's standard-setting and research-based groups; and a Secretariat, hosted by the Bank for International Settlements. The BCBS reports to the GHOS - its oversight body - and seeks its endorsement for major decisions.


Chair of the Basel Committee

Stefan Ingves

Stefan Ingves
Governor, Sveriges Riksbank

Term: 2011-present
Reappointment: 2014


Secretary General

William Coen

William Coen

Term: June 2014 to June 2019
(Mr Coen was reappointed in 2017)


About the Basel Committee Chair

The Chair is appointed by the GHOS for a term of three years that can be renewed once. The Chair's main responsibilities are to direct the work of the Committee in accordance with the BCBS mandate, including to:

  • convene and chair Committee meetings (where attendance is not possible, the Chair may designate the Secretary General to chair the meeting on his/her behalf)
  • monitor the progress of the BCBS work programme and provide operational guidance between meetings to carry forward the decisions and directions of the Committee
  • report to the GHOS when appropriate
  • represent the BCBS externally and be the principal spokesperson for the BCBS
Past Chairs         
2006-11      Nout Wellink, President, Netherlands Bank
2003-06 Jaime Caruana, Governor, Bank of Spain
1998-03 William J McDonough, President, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
1997-98 Tom de Swaan, Executive Director, Netherlands Bank
1993-97 Tommaso Padoa-Schioppa, Deputy Director General, Bank of Italy
1991-93 E Gerald Corrigan, President, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
1988-91 Huib J Muller, Executive Director, Netherlands Bank
1977-88 Peter Cooke, Associate Director, Bank of England
1974-77 Sir George Blunden, Executive Director, Bank of England