Basel Committee membership

Updated 14 May 2024

Membership - 28 jurisdictions / 45 institutions

The Basel Committee comprises 45 members from 28 jurisdictions, consisting of central banks and authorities with formal responsibility for the supervision of banking business. Additionally, the Committee has eight observers including central banks, supervisory groups, international organisations and other bodies. The Committee expanded its membership in 2009 and again in 2014.

Institutions represented on the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision

Country/jurisdiction Institutional representative
Argentina Central Bank of Argentina
Australia Reserve Bank of Australia
Australian Prudential Regulation Authority
Belgium National Bank of Belgium
Brazil Central Bank of Brazil
Canada Bank of Canada
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
China People's Bank of China
National Financial Regulatory Administration
European Union European Central Bank
European Central Bank Single Supervisory Mechanism
France Bank of France
Prudential Supervision and Resolution Authority
Germany Deutsche Bundesbank
Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin)
Hong Kong SAR Hong Kong Monetary Authority
India Reserve Bank of India
Indonesia Bank Indonesia
Indonesia Financial Services Authority
Italy Bank of Italy
Japan Bank of Japan
Financial Services Agency
Korea Bank of Korea
Financial Supervisory Service
Luxembourg Surveillance Commission for the Financial Sector
Mexico Bank of Mexico
Comisión Nacional Bancaria y de Valores
Netherlands Netherlands Bank
Russia Central Bank of the Russian Federation
Saudi Arabia Saudi Central Bank
Singapore Monetary Authority of Singapore
South Africa South African Reserve Bank
Spain Bank of Spain
Sweden Sveriges Riksbank
Switzerland Swiss National Bank
Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA
Türkiye Central Bank of the Republic of Türkiye
Banking Regulation and Supervision Agency
United Kingdom Bank of England
Prudential Regulation Authority
United States Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
Country Institutional representative
Chile Banking and Financial Institutions Supervisory Agency
Malaysia Central Bank of Malaysia
United Arab Emirates Central Bank of the United Arab Emirates
Supervisory groups, international agencies and other bodies
Bank for International Settlements
Basel Consultative Group 
European Banking Authority
European Commission
International Monetary Fund
Bank for International Settlements

* The access of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation to all BIS services, meetings and other BIS activities has been suspended.

Related information