Asian Consultative Council

The Asian Consultative Council (ACC) guides the activities of the Asian Office, which serves as its secretariat. Established in March 2001, the ACC facilitates communication between shareholding central banks in the region and the BIS's Board and Management on matters of interest to the Asia-Pacific central banking community. It also provides guidance for the Asian Office's research and banking activities.

The ACC comprises the Governors of the BIS member central banks in the Asia-Pacific region: Australia, China, Hong Kong SAR, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. Perry Warjiyo, Governor of Bank Indonesia, is the current Chair of the Council, and the Chief Representative of the Asian Office, Tao Zhang, currently serves as its secretary.

Previous chairs

Sep 2019-Sep 2021 Ravi Menon, Managing Director of the Monetary Authority of Singapore
Sep 2017-Sep 2019 Veerathai Santiprabhob, Governor of the Bank of Thailand
Apr 2016-Sep 2017  Graeme Wheeler, Governor, Reserve Bank of New Zealand
Apr 2014-Mar 2016 Amando M Tetangco Jr, Governor, Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas
Oct 2012-Mar 2014 Choongsoo Kim, Governor, Bank of Korea
Oct 2010-Sep 2012 Masaaki Shirakawa, Governor, Bank of Japan
Oct 2008-Sep 2010 Zeti Akhtar Aziz, Governor, Central Bank of Malaysia
Mar 2007-Sep 2008 Yaga V Reddy, Governor, Reserve Bank of India
Mar 2005-Feb 2007 Zhou Xiaochuan, Governor, People's Bank of China
Mar 2003-Feb 2005 Joseph Yam, Chief Executive, Hong Kong Monetary Authority
Mar 2001-Feb 2003 Ian Marfarlane, Governor, Reserve Bank of Australia