Management of the BIS

Current members of BIS Management

General Manager Agustín Carstens
Deputy General Manager Luiz Awazu Pereira da Silva
Secretary General and Head of General Secretariat Monica Ellis
Head of Banking Department Peter Zöllner
Head of Monetary and Economic Department Claudio Borio
Economic Adviser and Head of Research Hyun Song Shin
Head of BIS Innovation Hub Cecilia Skingsley
General Counsel Diego Devos
Deputy Head of Banking Department Luis Bengoechea
Deputy Secretary General Bertrand Legros
Deputy Head of Monetary and Economic Department      Stijn Claessens
Chair, Financial Stability Institute Fernando Restoy
Head of Risk Management Jens Ulrich
Chief Representative for Asia and the Pacific Tao Zhang
Chief Representative for the Americas Alexandre Tombini

Advisory committees

The key committees advising the General Manager and Deputy General Manager are the Executive Committee, the Finance Committee and the Compliance and Operational Risk Committee. The first two committees are chaired by the General Manager and the third by the Deputy General Manager, and all include other senior members of the Bank's Management.

The Executive Committee advises the General Manager primarily on the Bank's strategic planning and the allocation of resources, as well as on decisions related to the broad financial objectives for the banking activities and operational risk management.

The Finance Committee advises the General Manager on the financial management and policy issues related to the banking business, including the allocation of economic capital to risk categories.

The Compliance and Operational Risk Committee acts as an advisory committee to the Deputy General Manager and ensures the coordination of compliance matters and operational risk management throughout the Bank. The Committee also advises the Executive Committee on material compliance and operational risk matters.