Fact sheet - Basel Committee on Banking Supervision


The Committee provides a forum for regular cooperation on banking supervisory matters. Over recent years, it has developed increasingly into a standard-setting body on all aspects of banking supervision.


Senior officials responsible for banking supervision or financial stability issues in central banks and authorities with formal responsibility for the prudential supervision of banking business where this is not the central bank.

Basel Committee Member Countries
Argentina Luxembourg
Australia Mexico
Belgium Netherlands
Brazil Russia
Canada Saudi Arabia
China Singapore
France South Africa
Germany Spain
Hong Kong SAR Sweden
India Switzerland
Indonesia Turkey
Italy United Kingdom
Japan United States



Stefan Ingves, Governor of Sveriges Riksbank 


Secretary General: Wayne Byres, supported by a staff of 17.

Frequency of meetings

The Basel Committee usually meets four times per year.

Reporting arrangements

The Basel Committee on Banking Supervision reports to a joint committee of central bank Governors and (non-central bank) heads of supervision from its member countries (as listed above). 


Observers on the Basel Committee are: the European Banking Authority, the European Central Bank, the European Commission, the Financial Stability Institute and the International Monetary Fund.


The Committee maintains links with supervisors not directly participating in the committee with a view to strengthening prudential supervisory standards in all the major markets. These efforts take a number of different forms, including:

Main subgroups