Fact sheet: Committee on the Global Financial System

The Committee on the Global Financial System is a central bank forum for the monitoring and examination of broad issues relating to financial markets and systems. It helps to elaborate appropriate policy recommendations to support the central banks in the fulfilment of their responsibilities for monetary and financial stability. In carrying out this task, the Committee places particular emphasis on assisting central bank Governors in recognising, analysing and responding to threats to the stability of financial markets and the global financial system. 


Members are deputy governors, other senior officials of central banks, and the Economic Adviser of the BIS. Member institutions are:

Reserve Bank of Australia Bank of Korea
National Bank of Belgium Central Bank of Luxembourg
Central Bank of Brazil Bank of Mexico
Bank of Canada Netherlands Bank
People's Bank of China Monetary Authority of Singapore
European Central Bank Bank of Spain
Bank of France Sveriges Riksbank
Deutsche Bundesbank Swiss National Bank
Hong Kong Monetary Authority                   Bank of England
Reserve Bank of India Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System      
Bank of Italy Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Bank of Japan  


Philip Lowe, Governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia


Philip Wooldridge, Bank for International Settlements, supported by a staff of six.

Frequency of meetings

Regular Committee meetings are held on the occasion of four of the bimonthly meetings of Governors of BIS member central banks.

Reporting arrangements 

As of January 2010, the Chairman of the CGFS reports to the Global Economy Meeting, which comprises a group of 31 central bank Governors as members, on the CGFS's monitoring discussions and on other Committee initiatives.


List of all CGFS Papers

Further information